# 28. Methodist Independent Schools Trust

### **Basic Information**

<b>Contact Name and</b>	Peter Rigby, Senior Executive Officer , Methodist Independent Schools
Details	Trust
	rhartley@methodisteducation.co.uk

## **Summary of Content**

Subject and Aims	Appointment of Trustees and governors to two Methodist Independent Associated Schools
Main Points	As above
Background Context and Relevant Documents (with function)	The Conference is responsible for the appointment of Methodist Independent Schools Trustees and governors to the schools named in the resolutions.

Trustees of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust are appointed by the Conference, normally for a three year term. Nominations are made by the Trust, Chairs of Governors and the Methodist Council.

Under the Schemes relating to the administration of Ashville College, Kingswood School and Rydal Penrhos School, the Conference is responsible for the appointment of governors to their governing bodies. Governors are nominated by the governing bodies and/or the Methodist Independent Schools Trust and are initially appointed for a period of three years. They may be re-appointed for a further period.

# \*\*\*RESOLUTIONS

# **Methodist Independent Schools Trust**

- 28/1. The Conference adopted the re-nomination of the Revd Dr David Deeks as Chair of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.
- 28/2. The Conference adopted the re-nominations of the Methodist Council for the appointment of Miss Margaret Faulkner, the Revd David Gamble, Dr Lois Louden and the Revd Canon Graham Thompson as Trustees of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a further period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.
- 28/3. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Trustees for the appointment of Mrs Maureen Bollard and Mr John Robinson as Trustees of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.
- 28/4. The Conference adopted the nomination of the Methodist Council for the appointment of Mrs Barbara Easton as Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.
- 28/5. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Trustees of Mr David Pinney as a Chair of Governors Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.

28/6. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Trustees of Mr Robert Cowie as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.

## **Ashville College**

- 28/7. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Governors for the appointment of Peter Whitely, Jamie Search, Maggie Matthews and David Ewart as Governors of Ashville College for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.
- 28/8. The Conference adopted the nominations by the Governors of Patrick Walker and Amanda Brown as Governors of Ashville College for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.

### **Kingswood School**

- 28/9. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Governors for the appointment of Paul Baines, Andrew Gibbs, Katie Pillinger, Robert Sandry, Tim Westbrook and Peter Wright as Governors of Kingswood School for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.
- 28/10. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Governors of Rob Jolliffe and Simon Crowther as Governors of Kingswood School for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.

## **Rydal Penrhos**

- 28/11. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Governors for the appointment of Paul Slater, Stephen Wigley and Ralph Dransfield as Governors of Rydal Penrhos School for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.
- 28/12. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Governors of Della Fazey and John Waszek as Governors of Rydal Penrhos School for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2017.

## **Reasoned Statements**

## **Methodist Independent Schools Trust**

### **Mrs Barbara Easton**

Barbara Easton was appointed as the Methodist Church's Director of Education in January 2014. She is a Methodist local preacher and was previously the Head of a large secondary school.

### **Mr David Pinney**

The Articles of the Trust provide for three Chairs of Governors Trustees. A Town Planner by profession, David Pinney is Chair of Governors at Kingsley School Bideford and is nominated to fill the position vacated by Mr David Whitehead.

#### **Mr Robert Cowie**

Robert Cowie is a partner in accountancy firm Francis Clark and has been a Governor of Truro School since 1993. He has served on the Finance Committee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust since 2003 and is its Chair designate.

### Ashville College

### **Patrick Walker**

Patrick is the Training Secretary for AGBIS. He was educated at King William's College Isle of Man, and the Britannia Royal Naval College, Dartmouth. Specialising as a submariner early in his naval career, he enjoyed a wide range of operational appointments, both at sea and ashore, including command of three submarines. On leaving the Royal Navy in 2004, he became the Bursar and Clerk to the Governors at Queenswood School and joined Ashville as a governor in June 2012. Patrick is a member of the House sub-committee and is the AGBIS Representative.

#### **Amanda Brown**

After a career in public relations, Amanda is now Senior Media Relations Manager at First Direct. Amanda is a parent at Ashville College and voluntarily assists with the Marketing Department. She is a member of the House and Policy sub-committees.

## **Kingswood School**

#### **Robert Jolliffe**

Robert joins Kingswood School as a Governor and member of the Finance & Estates Committee. His career has been in investment banking and he brings a great deal of financial, management and IT experience to the Governing Body. He is a Director of Bath Mozartfest and Chair of the Board of Trustees of the National Botanical Garden of Wales.

### **Simon Crowther**

Simon Crowther joins Kingswood School as a Governor and member of the Finance & Estates Committee and the Strategic Planning Group. Simon is a Chartered Surveyor and brings significant experience of real estate strategy and estates transformation to the School.

# **Rydal Penrhos**

### **Della Fazey**

Della has a strong background in Education and has a PhD from the University of Wales. She recently spent three years working at the University of the West Indies and brings a wealth of experience and knowledge of educational principles and practice to support the governing body at Rydal Penrhos School.