# 51. Report to the Representative Session of business conducted by the Conference Diaconal Committee

The Conference Diaconal Committee ("the Committee") met during the Convocation of the Methodist Diaconal Order on 8 May 2014. The President took the Chair.

#### 1. Deacons who have died

The Committee approved the obituaries, as printed and circulated, of Olive Margaret Wainwright and Marjorie Whitfield.

## 2. Candidates

The Committee recommended, with the required majority, acceptance by the Representative Session of the following candidates to proceed immediately into pre-ordination training: Shirley Hassall Judith Stoddart

The Committee noted the following deacons recommended by the Presbyteral Candidates Selection Committee for training upon transfer from diaconal ministry:

Victoria Atkins

The Committee noted the following accepted diaconal candidates recommended by the Presbyteral Candidates Selection Committee for training for presbyteral ministry:

Emma Holroyd

# 3. Transfer

No case

## 4. Training and probation

The Committee noted that the following students had withdrawn from training: Sally Elizabeth Hammond Helen Osborne

The Committee recommends to the Representative Session that the following continue in training: Corinne Anne Brown

Linda Brown

Jacqueline Abigail Patricia Onike Esama-John

Elizabeth Harfleet

Valerie Hicks

Caroline Holt

Phillipa Mary Kirby-Girdlestone

Karen McEwen

Alison McMillan

Gail Morgan

Selina Jane Nisbett

Marlene Alison Skuce

Sarah Louise Wickett

Jacqueline Linda Wright

The Committee recommends to the Representative Session that the following's training be deferred: *No case* 

The Committee recommends to the Representative Session that the following continue on probation:

Angela Patricia Allport

Melanie Beaven

Prudence Elizabeth Cahill

Dawn Nicola Canham

Timothy Arthur Coleman

Sheila Mary Dawson

Michaela Jayne Doherty

Laura Evans

Jon Michael Everingham

Linda Gilson

Maria Howard

Pamela Luxton

Yasha Rukudzo Mashoko

Julie Morton

Lemia Nkwelah

Margaret Eleanor Patchett

Peter George Reast

Ramona Samuel

**Annette Sharp** 

Steven Wayne Sowerby

Joy Anne Sykes

Jill Taylor

Suzie Godinho Barony Viana

Liesl Collette Warren

Linda Watkin

The Committee noted that the President has given permission for the following student deacon to defer probation:

Liane Justine Elizabeth Kensett

Special cases:

No case

The Committee agreed, pursuant to SO 031, that the following students should be discontinued:

**Colette Ritson** 

**Ian Rossiter** 

#### 5. Ordinands

The Committee recommends to the Representative Session that the following are fit to be admitted into Full Connexion with the Conference as deacons and, if not already ordained, to be ordained:

Guy Austin Bride

Helen Mary Bamber

John Brobbey

Josephine Frances Ann Critchley

Annabel Lorna Graham

Tracey Jane Hume

Gillian Margaret Judge (ordained probationer)

Linda Rose Kinchenton

**Esther Longe** 

Angela Shereni Marilyn Olayinka Susannah Slowe Carole Irene Smith Irene Nyarai Tafirenyika

# 6. Deacons becoming supernumerary

The Committee recommends to the Representative Session that the following deacons be permitted to become supernumerary:

**Rosemary Coggrave** 

Margaret L Cox

**Barbara Crockett** 

**Christine Greening** 

Roger K Hensman

Anthony B Martin

(See the Presbyters and Deacons Becoming Supernumerary or Returning to the Active Work section of the Agenda for the resolution to be presented to the Representative Session.)

## 7. Resignations

The Committee noted that the President had given permission for the following deacons to resign: Margaret Crompton

#### 8. Annual inquiry

The Warden of the Order gave to the President on behalf of the Convocation the assurances as to the character and discipline of the deacons and diaconal probationers required by Standing Order 183.

## \*\*\*RESOLUTIONS

- 51/1. The Conference received the Report.
- 51/2. The Conference resolved, by a Standing Vote, that it accepted for training, unconditionally or conditionally as the case may be, the candidates for ministry recommended by the Diaconal Committee whose names are recorded in the report of that Committee: **Shirley Hassall**

- Judith Stoddart
- 51/3. The Conference adopted the report on diaconal students and probationers recommended for continuance in training or on probation as set out in section 4.
- 51/4. The Conference resolved by a Standing Vote that those persons whose names have been read to the Conference and are printed in the Agenda and Daily Record be now received into Full Connexion with the Conference as deacons and into full membership of the Methodist Diaconal Order, and that those not already ordained, be ordained by prayer and the laying on of hands on the afternoon of this day, the 29th day of June at Coventry Cathedral.