52. Report to the Representative Session of business conducted by the Conference Diaconal Committee

The Conference Diaconal Committee ("the Committee") met during the Convocation of the Methodist Diaconal Order on 2 May 2017. The President took the Chair.

1. Deacons who have died

The Committee approved the obituaries of Gwendoline Appleton, Marion Aspinall, Mary Mawson, Mavis McBride, Jean Miller, Jean Robinson, Leonard Russell Smith, and noted that the obituary for Susan Mary Jackson will be presented to the Conference Diaconal Committee in 2018.

2. Candidates

2.1 The Committee recommended, with the required majority, acceptance by the Representative Session of the following candidates to proceed immediately into pre-ordination training:

Caroline Michelle Goddard Helen Louise Lunn Theresa Effuah Sam Helen Snowball

2.2 The Committee noted the following deacon recommended by the Ministerial Candidates' Selection Committee for training for presbyteral ministry upon transfer from diaconal ministry:

Philip John Osborne

2.3 The Committee noted the following accepted diaconal candidates recommended by the Ministerial Candidates' Selection Committee for training for presbyteral ministry:

No case

3. Transfer

The Committee adopted the recommendation by a 75% majority or more of the Ministerial Candidates' Selection Committee acting as Transfer Committee that the following applicant should be transferred to the jurisdiction of this Conference, as a probationer:

Bryanell Rop (United Methodist Church)

4. Training and probation

The Committee adopted the following special reports of the Ministerial Candidates' and Probationers' Oversight Committee:

4.1 Candidates accepted at previous Conferences and given permission to delay entry into training:

No case

4.2 Candidates accepted at this Conference and to be given permission to delay entry into training:

No case

4.3 Candidates accepted at this Conference and to be given permission to transfer to another Conference:

No case

- 4.4 Candidates conditionally accepted at previous Conferences: (a) Those judged to have fulfilled the condition and therefore to be accepted as candidates No case (b) Those judged to have failed to fulfil the condition and thereby not to be accepted as candidates No case (c) Those still to fulfil the condition No case Changes in expected date of Reception into Full Connexion: 4.5 (a) To an earlier date No case (b) To a later date No case 4.6 Special cases: No case 4.7 Deferred entry into probation: No case 4.8 Withdrawals under SO 727: (a) Candidates No case (b) Student deacons No case (c) Probationers No case Transfer to other Conferences or Churches: 4.9 No case 4.10 Reinstatements under SO 761: (a) Student deacons No case (b) Probationers No case 4.11 Discipline:
- 4.12 The Committee noted, pursuant to SO 031, that the following students and probationers had been discontinued:

Beverley Jane Gibson

The Committee recommended to the Representative Session that the following continue in training or on probation:

In the following lists:

- * = change from the lists approved by the 2016 Conference
- + = candidates accepted by the 2016 Conference

Surname	First name(s)	Due to be received into
		Full Connexion
Brown	Corinne Anne	2019
Brown	Linda	2018
Esama-John	Jacqueline Abigail Patricia Onike	2018
Harfleet	Elizabeth	2018
Hassall	Shirley Dianne	2019
+ Johnson	Katherine Jane	2020
Parnell	Jennifer	2019
+ Perrott	Nigel George	2020
+ Spinks	Rebekah Joy	2020
Stoddart	Judith Elizabeth	2019
+ Stoner	Robert Austin	2020
Wheadon	Sally Anne	2020
Wickett	Sarah Louise	2018
Wright	Jacqueline Linda	2018

5. Ordinands

The Committee recommended to the Representative Session of the Conference that the following are fit to be received into Full Connexion with the Conference as deacons, and, if not already ordained, to be ordained and to be received into full membership of the Methodist Diaconal Order:

Laura Evans Alison McMillan Gail Morgan Selina Jane Nisbett Marlene Alison Skuce

6. Permission to serve abroad

Angleena Keizer

7. Permission to reside abroad

Harriet Bacon Gordon Wallace

8. Deacons becoming supernumerary

a) The Committee recommended to the Representative Session that the following deacons be permitted to become supernumerary:

John G Hill Jennifer M Knight Shirley E Mackintosh Jane Rice Janet K Smith Paul R Wayne

b) Permissions granted during the year:

During the year the President permitted the following deacon to become supernumerary on health grounds:

No case

(See the Presbyters and Deacons Becoming Supernumerary or Returning to the Active Work section of the Agenda for the resolution to be presented to the Representative Session.)

9. Resignations

The Committee noted that the President had given permission for the following deacons to resign:

No case

10. Annual inquiry

The Warden of the Order gave to the President on behalf of the Convocation the assurances as to the character and discipline of the deacons and diaconal probationers required by Standing Order 183.

***RESOLUTIONS

- 52/1. The Conference received the Report.
- 52/2. The Conference resolved, by a Standing Vote, that it accepted for training, unconditionally or conditionally as the case may be, the candidates for ministry recommended by the Diaconal Committee whose names are recorded in the report of that Committee.
- 52/3. The Conference adopted the report on diaconal students and probationers recommended for continuance in training or on probation as set out in section 4.
- 52/4. The Conference resolved by a Standing Vote that those persons whose names have been read to the Conference and are printed in the Agenda and Daily Record be now received into Full Connexion with the Conference as deacons, and, if not already ordained, to be ordained by prayer and the laying on of hands and to be received into full membership of the Methodist Diaconal Order on the afternoon of this day, the 25th day of June, at Darlington Street Methodist Church, Wolverhampton.