29. Methodist Schools

Contact name and	John Weaving, Director of Finance and Company Secretary, Methodist
details	Independent Schools Trust
	jweaving@methodistschools.org.uk
Resolutions	The resolutions in the report enable the Conference to:
	 appoint Trustees of Methodist Independent Schools Trust (MIST) and governors of Ashville College, Kingswood School and Rydal Penrhos School.
	 appoint Trustee of Methodist Academies and Schools Trust (MAST).

Methodist Independent Schools Trust

Appointment of Trustees to MIST and Governors to Associated Schools

Trustees of Methodist Independent Schools Trust are appointed by the Conference, normally for a three-year term. Nominations are made by the Trust, Chairs of Governors and the Methodist Council.

Under the Schemes relating to the administration of Ashville College, Kingswood School and Rydal Penrhos School, the Conference is responsible for the appointment of governors to their governing bodies. Governors are nominated by the governing bodies and/or the Methodist Independent Schools Trust and are initially appointed for a period of three years. They may be re-appointed for a further period.

***RESOLUTIONS

Methodist Independent Schools Trust

- 29/1. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Council of the Revd Stephen Burgess as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust, for a period of two years concluding 31 August 2020.
- 29/2. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Trustees of Dr Neil Tunnicliffe as a Trustee of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.
- 29/3. The Conference adopted a nomination by the Chairs of Governors of Mr Nick Buckland OBE as a Trustee of Methodist Independent Schools Trust for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.

Ashville College

29/4. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Governors of Mr Peter Lee, Ms Sue Jacklin, Mr Jeremy Henderson as Governors of Ashville College for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.

Kingswood School

- 29/5. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Governors of Mr Simon Crowther, Mr Tim Westbrook, Mr Robert Sandry, Mr Tony Raper, Mr David Quine, Ms Katie Pillinger, Ms Barbara Pendle, Mr Peter Freeman, Ms Susan Cook, Mr Colin Burns, Mr Paul Baines, Mr Robert Joliffe as Governors of Kingswood School for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.
- 29/6. The Conference adopted the nominations by the Governors of Mrs Helen Bools and Mr Tim Lindsay as Governors of Kingswood School for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.

Rydal Penrhos School

- 29/7. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Governors for the appointment of Mr Ralph Dransfield, the Revd Dr Stephen Wigley and Mrs Anne Watson as Governors of Rydal Penrhos School for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.
- 29/8. The Conference adopted the re-nominations by the Governors for the appointment of Mr Iwan Williams, Mr Julian Barnes, Mr Paul Burgess, Mrs Nicola Rutherford, Mr John Waszek, Mr John Payne, Dr Nigel Bickerton, Mr Steve Scarff and Mrs Christine Lunt as Governors of Rydal Penrhos School for a period of five years concluding 31 August 2023.

Reasoned Statements

Methodist Independent Schools Trust

The Revd Stephen Burgess

Ministry has included 20 years as a School Chaplain. Former District Chair of York and Hull District.

Dr Neil Tunnicliffe

Former governor at a Methodist School. Experienced leader who has worked on high profile projects (Sports Council, Rugby Football Union) and directs his own consulting practice. Committed Christian.

Mr Nick Buckland OBE

A wide range of high profile public and voluntary sector board roles and is Chair of Governors at St Petroc's School and a Governor at Shebbear College. The Articles of the Trust provide for three Chairs of Governors Trustees and Nick Buckland is nominated to fill the position vacated by Mr Mike Saltmarsh.

Kingswood School

Mrs Helen Bools

A parent of two previous Kingswood students. A retired Consultant Orthodontist, with experience of strategic management, training and examiner roles in hospitals and professional medical societies. Chair of the Kingswood Compliance and Safeguarding Committee.

Mr Tim Lindsay

An Old Kingswoodian and the son and father of Old Kingswoodians. Previously Chair of the Kingswood Association. Now CEO of a creative education charity and prestigious global advertising and design awards show and non-executive chairman of an advertising micro-network.

***RESOLUTIONS

Methodist Academies and Schools Trust

- 29/9. The Conference adopted the nomination by the Methodist Council of the Revd Sally Ratcliffe as a Trustee of the Methodist Academies and Schools Trust, for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.
- 29/10. The Conference appointed Jenny Clarke as a Trustee of the Methodist Academies and Schools Trust, for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.
- 29/11. The Conference appointed Dr Lorraine Earps as a Trustee of the Methodist Academies and Schools Trust, for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.

29/12. The Conference appointed Dr Christopher Stephens as a Trustee of the Methodist Academies and Schools Trust, for a period of three years concluding 31 August 2021.

Reasoned Statements

Jenny Clarke has been the Headteacher of Aspull Church Primary School, a joint Anglican/Methodist school since 2009. She is the Methodist representative on the board of Wigan SACRE.

Dr Lorraine Earps is Head of Queen's College, Taunton, a co-educational Methodist Independent school in Somerset.

The Revd Sally Ratcliffe

Worked as a primary school teacher for 14 years, teaching in Foundation Stage, KS1 and KS2 before coming to ministry. School Governor and former Literacy Consultant.

Dr Christopher Stephens is Head of Southlands College, the Methodist college of the University of Roehampton. Alongside holding a senior role within the university, Christopher established the Susanna Wesley Foundation, acting as its Director until 2018.